Pico de Gallo

pico de gallo

I had one jalapeño come busting out of the gate, far ahead of any of my other vegetables this year. I needed to pick it and use it, so I decided to include it in pico de gallo where it could be a major player. I served this pico as a condiment to pair with tempeh tacos and a lime and peanut coleslaw. The tempeh tacos I made much like I make my chicken tacos, although I did come up with a seasoning blend for them. Still, your favorite taco seasoning can be used, and they will turn out delicious. I used about 8-10 oz of tempeh for the tacos in place of the pound of chicken breast.

Fresh pico is supereasy to make – just a little knife work, really – and so much better than anything out of a jar or even sitting in the produce department pre-mixed. The ratios are pretty simple, although I will say to be mindful of the size of your tomatoes vs. your onions. If you have a huge onion, you may want only to use part of it.

Pico de Gallo

  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeño, finely diced
  • a handful of cilantro, chopped
  • juice of 1 lime
  • salt and pepper or ancho chili pepper

Toss all ingredients together in a bowl. Serve with tacos or fold into a bowl of diced avocado for easy guacamole.

Serves 4-6 as a condiment.

2 thoughts on “Pico de Gallo

Leave a Reply

