Cucumber and Tomato Salad

Simple and classic

A classic!  I could eat bowlful after bowlful of this stuff.  I wish I had grown dill in my herb garden, because that would have been amazing with these flavors.  Oregano is wonderful, too.  This is a recipe that almost doesn’t need recording, but here is how I make mine.

Cucumber and tomato salad

  • 1 large heirloom tomato, seeded and chopped
  • 1 hot house cucumber, cut in half lengthwise and sliced in 1/4 inch thick pieces
  • 1/4 of a large sweet onion, preferably Vidalia, 
  • 1 T fresh oregano or dill, chopped
  • 1 T fresh parsley, chopped
  • 3 T extra virgin olive oil
  • Juice of one lemon
  • Sea salt and fresh ground pepper
Combine the tomato, cucumber, onion, and herbs in a bowl.  Dress with the olive oil and lemon juice.  Shortly before serving season with salt and pepper.  I love to leave this at room temperature, but many prefer it chilled.  
Hint: If you don’t like the bite of raw onion, even sweet onion, microwave the onion in a bowl with the lemon juice for 30 seconds.  It will stay crunchy but will taste less pungent.  Then add the onion and later use the lemon juice to dress the salad. 
Serves 2 – perfectly
4 thoughts on “Cucumber and Tomato Salad

  1. Maryann – pleasure to make your acquaintance! Your blog looks *delicious*.

    Jenn – don’t cucumber and tomatoes just taste like summer? It’s getting wonderfully, wickedly warm up here in Georgia, too. So glad you liked the picture! That’s the hardest part right now!

  2. This weekend I’m trying this recipe. I make a similar salad that is posted on my blog, but I like to mix things up every now and then. I like your version for several reasons: My version has red wine vinegar, which is great, but sometimes it’s nice to keep the flavors simple. Your version has less olive oil. Finally, I like the idea of adding the lemon juice.

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

