Rustic Italian Sausage and Grapes

So, tonight I could not allow myself to miss the American Idol season finale.  But, with an unyielding work schedule and being generally tired, I had to come up with an easy meal that could be made quickly and eaten in front of the TV.  Enter the idea of sausage and grapes, which I had heretofore heard as equivocal to the classic pork chops and applesauce.  After tonight’s experiment, I indeed proclaim it to be excellent.  I paired it with a simple tomato and cucumber salad.  After relishing the meal, I would change only one thing about it: I would serve the the sausage and grapes in a bread bowl.  The entree isn’t the most aesthetically pleasing meal I have made, and I think the bread bowl would work well.  Bread works nicely with it for dipping and sopping up the sauce, and it hides a bit of the mess.  Regardless, here is how the dish worked in my pasta bowls: Pork chops and applesauce for the 21st century!

Salsiccia e uva rustica (Rustic Italian Sausage and Grapes)

  • 2 links sweet Italian sausage
  • 1 link hot Italian sausage
  • 2 cloves garlic, slivered
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 T rosemary (can substitute a half T of thyme for half the rosemary)
  • 1 1/2 C seedless red grapes
  • 1 1/2 C seedless green grapes
  • olive oil for frying
  • sea salt and fresh ground black pepper
  • balsamic vinegar for drizzling
In a large skillet, heat a couple of tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil over medium high heat.  When the oil is hot, add the sausage links and brown on all sides.  When brown, remove to a plate and drain on paper towels.  Add the garlic and onion and reduce the heat to medium, so as not to burn the garlic.  A sprinkle of sea salt will help prevent the onion from sticking.  Saute until the onion and garlic are soft, then cut up the sausage into rough chunks and add to the mixture.  Add the rosemary and the grapes, then cook over medium high heat until the grapes burst and the soft pulp begins to form a sauce.  Remove from heat, season with salt and pepper, then drizzle with balsamic vinegar to taste.  Serve in a (bread) bowl with crusty bread, or garlic bread, or better yet – crusty garlic bread.  Serves 2.
2 thoughts on “Rustic Italian Sausage and Grapes

  1. When I was a teenager my oldest brother went vegan and it was a major monkey wrench in our daily home made Italian cuisine. The one thing that kept me a meat eater was sausage, I just could not give it up! I was brought up on sausage and peppers, so this is a super cool twist. I will have to try it and let you know!

  2. Wow – I that must have been a challenge. A friend and co-worker of mine is vegan, and sometimes that’s tricky when it comes to choosing lunch restaurant options. (It also keeps us from eating total crap, so that’s at least a bonus). Personally, bacon will be the one meat I can never give up.

    As for the grapes instead of peppers, it’s definitely tasty! I was pleasantly surprised.

Leave a Reply

