May’s Pie of the Month: Grape Pie

Red, seedless, tart, delicious

I have resolved that every month I will develop a new pie recipe, and May is no exception.  I love pie. It is my favorite type of dessert – fruit forward, satisfying, and with touches of richness.  I had been waffling all month on what sort of pie to make.  I’d prefer to make something seasonal from fresh, local fruit.  But, earlier this week I had bought scads of grapes to make salsiccia e uva and nosh on to boot.  Well, there were still a lot of grapes left, and the month is drawing to a close.  My brain took these two items and produced the idea of grape pie.  Most recipes out there are for Concord grape pie, and that wasn’t going to work for the thin-skinned, tender grapes I had from the grocer’s.  The recipe that follows is a pantry-recipe, perfect for using up leftover fruit and putting those canisters of dried goods to use.

Seedless Red Grape Pie

 

  • dough from your favorite double pie crust recipe
  • 4 C seedless red grapes, halved
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1/8 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp cardamom
  • 3 T cornstarch
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • 2 T Concord grape juice
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 T butter
  • Half and half, heavy cream, or egg white for brushing
  • Sparkling sugar.
Prepare pie crust according to recipe.  Line your pie plate with the bottom crust, and bake if you’d like a crisper bottom, or chill in the freezer while you make the filling.  Chill the second half of your recipe in the freezer while you make the filling; this will allow it to hold up better when you cover the pie with it.
Combine the grapes, sugar, and spices in a large saucepan.  Mix well and let rest for 15 minutes.  Add the lemon zest and juice, cornstarch, vanilla, and grape juice to the pan.  Heat over high heat and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and let mixture bubble for 3 minutes or so – until the liquid has thickened up.  Pour the thickened grape mixture into your pie crust.
 Roll out your top crust, and – using a ruler – cut out strips about 1 inch wide to make your lattice top.  The easiest way to do this is to lay a clean, plastic ruler on the dough and run a pizza cutter down both sides of the ruler.  Lay the strips on the pie and weave in a lattice pattern.  Brush the strips with the cream or egg white, then sprinkle with the sparkling decorator’s sugar.
Bake pie for 20 minutes in a 425° oven, then reduce heat to 350° and continue baking for another 30 minutes.
4 thoughts on “May’s Pie of the Month: Grape Pie

  1. I made this yesterday – – I had a lot of grapes that were about to go bad and I didn’t want to waste them. The pie turned out fantastic. I thought grape pie sounded weird, but it turned out great. I didn’t have cardamom so I just threw in cinnamon instead. Also, I left out the vanilla and butter – – and I can attest the pie still tasted wonderful. Thanks for the interesting recipe. I’m going to look for other interesting ways to use grapes now too. They’re a lot more economical than other fruit (say, for instance, cherries).

  2. This pie was superb! I too exchanged cardamom for cinnamon. I also left out the zest but did use the lemon juice. My picky eater of a son said I should make it more often.

    I love the smell as it cooked on the stove!! It reminded me of a scented candle or something.

Leave a Reply

