Cucumber-Watermelon Salad

 

Sweet, savory, colorful - sooooo good.

Sweet, savory, colorful - sooooo good.

I’m not sure where, in my perusing of the multitudes of food blogs and sites, I read that watermelon and chili powder were a dynamic combination.  At first, I dismissed it.  What’s better with watermelon than more watermelon?  But then, they were everywhere.  Beckoning to me, teasing me, cajoling me with their sweetness.   The more I thought about them, the more I thought about how the smoky spiciness of chili powder might be delightful with some juicy sweetness.  And the rest?  Well, it is the month of the cucumber, after all.  This disappeared so quickly, I couldn’t believe it.  Chili powder and watermelon are wonderful together.  In this salad, the bites of watermelon are little pockets of succulent sweetness.  As you eat, you start to crave the surprise of the watermelon.  Enjoy!  And read to the bottom for some very exciting blogginess!

Cucumber-Watermelon Salad

 

  • 1 1/2 C watermelon, cubed
  • 1 cucumber, seeded, halved and sliced
  • 2 green onions, sliced
  • 1 serrano pepper, minced
  • 1 T mint, chopped
  • 1 1/2 T cilantro, chopped
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1/2 tsp. sugar
  • 2 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp salt
In a bowl, combine the watermelon, cucumber, scallions, serrano, cilantro, and mint.  Toss well to combine.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the lime juice, olive oil, sugar, chili powder, cumin, and salt.  Pour over the salad just before serving and toss again.  Serve with some jerk chicken or pork – something that demands some sweet and savory.
Serves 2 – and I’ll double it next time for the two of us.
Many thanks to Sara of the Innocent Primate Vegan Blog for the nomination for the Brilliante Weblog Award.  What an honor!  This is awesome!
The rules: 1. Place logo on site (done!).  2. Link to the site that nominated you (done!). 3. Nominate seven other blogs for the award: Susan @ Sticky, Gooey, Creamy, Chewy; Corinne @ A Gourmet Love Affair; Jenn @ The Left Over Queen; Jude @ Apple Pie Patis and Pate; Meedo and Zainab @ Arabic Bites; Maryann @ Finding La Dolce Vita; and last-but-never-least Julie @ Peanut Butter and Julie.  There’s some good reading (and eating) at these, people!  Check them out.  4. Tell them!
Spread the love…and the yumminess.
Have fun everyone – Sara, you’re awesome!
11 thoughts on “Cucumber-Watermelon Salad

  1. Watermelon and chili? That sounds great, I love the way you describe the watermelon as pockets of succulent surprise… and THANK YOU! What a great present!

  2. Haley, thank you so much! I’m very honored that you thought of me. I’m visiting at the Inlaws for a few days, but I’ll pass this along when I get back.

    That looks like a fantastic salad, by the way. The flavor combinations sound really interesting. Definitely one to bookmark!

  3. Another genius combination – which is exactly why I nominated you! Watermelon, hot pepper, and cucumber!! This salad would go great with a melon margarita and some green enchiladas!! Oh, it’s too early in the morning for me to be wanting ‘ritas and mexican food – or is it??

  4. Thanks for the nomination! I’ll pass it along and hope for

    Really nice use for watermelons, by the way. I bet this would be so refreshing on a day like today.

  5. Corinne – thank you! It’s a great combo – I’ve been thinking of a summer appetizer tray with watermelon balls rolled in different savory things, like chili powder, flavored salts, etc. As for the description, sometimes the writerly part takes over, you know?

    Zainab – thank you!

    Susan – have fun at the in-laws, looking forward to your next batch of posts!

    Mompaca – this is a great way to use up both and avoid getting bored with summer’s bounty. yum!

    Jenn – (blushing) I love salads, because even when I’m lazy with the main dish, they’re still tasty and easy. I probably make them more than anything -even chicken!

    Sara – never too early for margaritas and Mexican food. Now you’ve got me wanting some!

    Maryann – thank you! I hope you are enjoying Italy!

    Jude – glad you like it! It’s lovely when it’s extra cold from a stint in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

