Fresh Salsa

Hoagie Night strikes again, as it usually does on Sundays – and I wanted a side other than pasta salad.  I decided to whip up a batch of salsa (this week’s impulse-buy was tortilla chips).  This salsa is very fresh, and I recommend whizzing up it to a pretty fine consistency.  I like to get all of the ingredients well-blended as many of the flavors are very powerful.  This salsa can be made in less than five minutes, and makes about 2 1/2 cups.  I love to make it to top homemade burritos in addition to using it as a dip.  Don’t shy away from the mint!  It adds a particular layer of freshness and sweetness – even a cleanness – to the flavor.  

Fresh Salsa

 

  • 4 plum tomatoes
  • 1 medium onion, roughly chopped
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 1 serrano pepper, seeded and deveined
  • leaves of 3-4 sprigs of mint
  • handful of cilantro leaves
  • 1 medium clove garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. dark chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 tsp coarse salt
  • pinch cayenne pepper
Cut stem sides off tomatoes, and cut into 3-4 large chunks each.  In food processor, chop tomatoes and onions with lemon juice until veggies are roughly chopped.  Add the serrano, mint, cilantro, garlic, and spices.  Pulse until salsa is finely chopped and blended.  Serve immediately or chill first.
Makes 2 – 2 1/2 cups salsa
5 thoughts on “Fresh Salsa

  1. This recipes reminds me that i don’t have a food processor so we hand chop EVERYTHING… I’ve gotten very used to ‘chunky’ 🙂
    I shall have to try this I’ve never actually added cumin to my homemade salsa concoctions… crazy huh?

  2. Corinne – I don’t use the food processor often, so a great investment I made was in a Hamilton Beach combo blender / food processor. It has both of the traditional types of “bowl” with different blades, but it takes up a lot less space with a single base. Plus, it was cheap – about the price of just a blender. I love cumin in salsa; the smoky flavor gives it just a little depth to counter the tang.

    Jude – Thank you! I have to agree with you – I love cold, spicy salsa in summer.

  3. Pingback: Summer Barbeque Menu: A Fourth of July Fiesta Recap « Appoggiatura

Leave a Reply

