September Pie of the Month: Grandma’s Pecan Pie

OK – I got my come-uppance for being a smartass in June.  I procrastinated my way out of getting a pie done in July, and with work exploding in August I never considered baking.  September started furiously, but in the eye of the storm I’m trying to relax and enjoy things.  Saturday brought me beautiful fresh pecans at the farmer’s market, and I had to have them.  It’s about a quart, and I have plenty of pecans left for other tasty recipes.  But September is a special month; my grandfather’s, grandmother’s, late great-grandmother’s, and my birthdays all fall in this month.  And, when I think of pecans, I always immediately think of my grandmother’s pecan pie.  Grandma was a great baker when she was able, and it’s still difficult to keep her out of the kitchen on holidays.  

 

So, with these fresh pecans and her birthday coming up, what better to honor the day than by sharing her pecan pie recipe.  Her secret weapon is the maple syrup, which gives the filling a richer and more complex flavor than most pecan pies.  The only deviations I make from her technique are regarding the pecans.  She uses a cup of finely chopped pecans.  I tend to opt for about 1 1/4 cups of pecan halves.  When I was very little, I didn’t think her pie looked very appetizing because it reminded me of brown asphalt.  I like leaving the pecans halved because of the visual reminder of the delicious nuts it celebrates.  Regardless, this pie is delicious.  

Grandma’s Pecan Pie

 

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 2 T flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 C melted butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2/3 C light corn syrup
  • 1/3 C maple syrup
  • 1 1/4 C pecan halves
  • 1 unbaked pie shell
Break the eggs into a large mixing bowl, and gently whisk them until they are lightly beaten.  Mix the sugar, flour, and salt together, stirring well to break up any clumps.  Melt the butter.  I usually microwave mine in a bowl covered with wax paper in 20 second increments until all butter is melted.  Whisk a small amount of the melted butter into the eggs to temper the eggs.  Whisk in the remaining butter plus the sugar mixture until all ingredients are well combined.  Stir in syrup and mix well.  Add the nuts, being careful not to break them up too much.  Pour into an unbaked pie shell, making sure the nuts are evenly distributed.  Bake at 375º for 10 minutes, then reduce the heat to 350º and bake for another 50 minutes.
2 thoughts on “September Pie of the Month: Grandma’s Pecan Pie

  1. I LOVE pecan pie, but I have never made it with maple syrup. I am very intrigued, I am going to have to try this recipe out.

Leave a Reply

