Spicy Pecans

So, I’ve had all these pecans sitting around, and I haven’t been able to decide how to use them.  Pecan pesto?  Maybe.  In pasta with butternut squash?  Eh. Pie?  Already did that.  A tart?  Too much like pie.  Plain?  Been working on them plenty.  Then, I ran out of snacks.  I needed something savory, salty, spicy.  I needed some pecans, tossed with a little butter and some seasonings.  Crunchy.  Satisfying.  Easy.  Perfect!

Spicy Pecans

 

  • 2 C pecan halves
  • 1 T butter
  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 T Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1 T salt
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
Preheat oven to 325º.  In a saute pan, heat the butter and olive oil until the butter is melted.  Add the Worcestershire sauce, then the pecans and all of the seasonings.  Stir well to coat the pecans evenly in the butter and seasonings.  When evenly mixed, spread the pecans in a single layer on a baking sheet.  Bake for 15 minutes, stirring twice to prevent over-browning.  Cool and serve immediately or store in an airtight container.  
7 thoughts on “Spicy Pecans

  1. I have a bag of pecans sitting there staring me inthe face waiting for me to do something with them, i want to put these in the rice pilaf as you mentioned. Maybe I can try that tonight!

  2. @ Hugging the Coast – thanks! Guilt-free is good!

    @ Corinne – it’s so easy – worth all the minimal effort they take. I’d say go for it – it’d perk up any rice. Thanks!

  3. What a fantastic sounding recipe. I think this recipe would adapt quite well to using my smoker instead of the oven. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

