Spicy Pecan and Rice Pilaf

My spicy pecans are a great snack, but I thought I could find a way to incorporate them into a meal.  If I keep too many snacks on hand, I eat them.  Quickly.  This was a great way to add some zing to a very simple pilaf with rich flavor.  

Spicy Pecan and Rice Pilaf

 

  • 1 T butter
  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 C rice
  • 1/4 C cooking sherry
  • 1 T thyme, chopped
  • 1/2 C beef stock
  • 1 1/2 C water
  • 1 T parsley
  • 1/3 C spicy pecans, chopped
In a medium saucepan, heat the butter and olive oil medium high heat.  When the butter is melted, reduce the heat and saute the shallots and garlic together until the shallots are translucent and soft.  Add the rice, and saute it until it takes on a light brown color – about five minutes.  Add the cooking sherry, and stir, letting it evaporate completely.  Add the beef stock, water, and thyme.  Bring to boil, then put a lid on the rice.  Reduce the heat to low.  Cook until the rice is done and all liquid is evaporated, about 20 minutes.  Remove from heat and fluff with a fork.  Stir in the parsley and the pecans.  
Serves 4.
4 thoughts on “Spicy Pecan and Rice Pilaf

  1. Oh yeah! I love spicy nuts!! And putting them into a rice pilaf…wonderful! And that’s an easy switch for me, changing veggie broth in place of beef broth – instant vegan! –Well, and using a vegan friendly butter 😉 Great recipe!

  2. Yeah – these are loosely based on the flavors in my Grandma’s homemade Chex mix, which is something like legal, family-friendly crack. This would definitely be an easy vegan sub – I’d up the veggie broth to a cup and reduce the water to a cup as well.

    I could totally go for a bowl of this right now.

  3. That is a great idea! I’ve made rice similar to this but back then, I tend to mix crushed walnuts & dried shiitake mushrooms. And adding chopped parsley really brightens the overall appearance. I should make some soon. This is a great fall dish.

  4. @ Bentoist – Thank you! Crushed walnuts and mushrooms – now that’s inspiring some dinner this week. I love how fall foods lend themselves to deep, nutty, earthy flavors. Yum!

Leave a Reply

