Cilantro Lime Rice

img_1006

Wow.  I have been really absent from blogging for a while lately.  It’s not my fault, I swear!  I was in Chicago for a week, then Savannah for four days, and barely home in between.  This week I’ve been exhausted.  We were planning to go to Virginia to look for a place to live this weekend. Instead, we scrapped the plans in favor of staying home, resting, and actually seeing each other.  I decided to take the two days off from work anyway, and tonight we stayed in.  I didn’t put a lot of effort into dinner tonight, and that’s what is great about this rice.  It’s full of flavor, and it barely takes any more effort than throwing a plain ol’ pot of rice on the stove.   If I serve this rice as a side dish, I usually stir in some pineapple tidbits and some more cilantro.  Mango or pineapple salsa would be great in it, too!  I also often use this rice as a filling in burritos in addition to meat, salsa, and other assorted goodies.

img_1000

Cilantro Lime Rice

  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 T butter
  • 1 large shallot, chopped
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 1 1/2 C white rice
  • 1 1/2 C chicken stock
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • zest and juice of 1 lime
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1 T cilantro, finely chopped
  • sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 C pineapple tidbits, drained (optional)

Melt butter and oil together over moderate heat.  Add shallots and garlic, sauteeing gently until shallots are clear and tender.  Add rice and lightly brown, about 3 minutes.  Pour in stock, and stir in the spices and lime juice.  Season with salt and pepper.  Bring the liqud to a bubble.  Simmer together for 2 minutes, then add water and bring to a boil.  Cover and reduce to heat to low, cooking for 20 minutes or until all liquid is absorbed and the rice is tender.  Fluff with a fork and stir in the cilantro and lime zest.  Serve as a side, garnished with drained pineapple tidbits or use plain as a burrito filling with meat and salsa.

Serves 4.

14 thoughts on “Cilantro Lime Rice

  1. mmm. I can think of about 10 things off the top of my head that would be perfect with this rice. LOVE the cilantro/lime combo!

    Congrats on being featured for FFF!

  2. Sounds familiar — the idea of putting on a pot of rice when I don’t want to make a big effort but can have lots of flavor. I sort of lean toward the soy sauce & green onions with mine, so your lime cilantro version would be a very nice change. Mmm….

    • @ kellypea – I love the soy / green onions combo with rice. Saute some mushrooms in ginger and garlic, and I don’t need anything else. I might have to make that with some of the rice that I keep staring at in the cabinets….

  3. Rice and the citrus flavors of lime or lemon seem made for each other. This rice made me think about shrimp, crawfish, hot sauce. Actually most things make me think about hot sauce, but that’s a habit I need to break.

    You know I’m having a major rice revival right now and this another great recipe I will add to my ever growing collection.

    Lime works well with cayenne pepper too.

    Thanks, Haley 🙂

    • I agree – rice and citrus were made for each other. It’s not pilaf unless something delightful is zested into it. I love this rice revival you are having – it’s such a perfect food. I had some for dinner tonight – fried up, lots of chili-garlic sauce.

      And, there is nothing wrong with thinking about hot sauce. Nothing at all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

