Fried Ravioli, Revisted

img_1163

When I heard that March 20 was National Ravioli Day, I was immediately reminded of one of my first blog posts: Ravioli di Bruschetta.  (n.b.: for a complete listing of all the national food holidays, check out this website). It was a great dish, and I made it last year because I had heard the same bit of trivia.  I am not one to eat ravioli very often, because I detest ricotta cheese and most other people eating ravioli dream of an ooey-gooey delight.  However, I once choked down a very acceptable fried ravioli at a little Italian restaurant– now closed– in Savannah.  I suspect the main reason I liked the stuff was the fact that it was deep-fried and served with a zesty tomato sauce.  This ravioli dish was different. I selected a chicken-filled pre-packaged ravioli, and I sauced with a bruschetta-like fresh tomato topping.  

So, here I am: one year later, thinking of that early post, and craving toasted ravioli all over again.  I realized that it didn’t even have a picture.  This meant it had to be made!  And photographed!  And updated!  There aren’t a whole lot of changes, but I did use an egg and milk blend for battering.  I also added a bit more garlic.  Shouldn’t “MORE GARLIC” become the food blogger refrain, much like “MORE COWBELL?”

The original post is here, for historical purposes.

img_1159

Ravioli di bruschetta, Redux

  • One package of your favorite ravioli, cooked according to directions (if you’re really industrious, you could make your own).  
  • 1/2 C milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 C bread crumbs
  • olive oil (not extra virgin) for frying
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, or assorted herbs such as basil, oregano, thyme, and marjoram
  • 1/4 C parmesan cheese, grated
  • 8-10 Amorosa or Campari tomatoes, seeded and chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 T basil chiffonade, plus some extra chiffonade for garnish
  •  Juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 3-4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil (use the good stuff)
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

 

Cook ravioli in salted water according to package directions.

Meanwhile, make the tomato topping: chop and seed the tomatoes, and mix in a bowl with the garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, and basil.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Mix well, and let it rest so the flavors can develop.   

When the ravioli have finished cooking, drain well, drizzle with olive oil to prevent sticking,  and set aside on a plate to cool for 10 minutes.  Heat an inch of olive oil in a 12 inch skillet.  While the oil heats, set up your frying station.  In a bowl, beat the egg and milk together.  In a second bowl add the bread crumbs, garlic powder, Italian seasoning, and Parmesan cheese.  Mix together well with a fork.  When the oil has heated, dredge the ravioli first in the egg mixture – shaking the excess off – then the bread crumbs.  Repeat if necessary.  Shake off the extra bread crumbs to prevent them from burning in the oil.  Fry the ravioli in single layers until golden brown.  Then, remove with a slotted spoon or spatula to a plate lined with a paper towel.  

To serve, place a layer of the ravioli in bowls and spoon the tomato sauce on top.  Garnish with shredded parmesan cheese and basil.  

Serves 4.

12 thoughts on “Fried Ravioli, Revisted

  1. Jo’s Stumble brought me here. My girlfriend has been asking me make fried ravioli and I didn’t have the recipe or know how. And now I do, THANK YOU!

    Just looking at them makes my mouth water (great picture!)
    This whole blog is delicious!

    • @ Jill – Thanks so much for coming by, and telling me where you came from! Jo is such a sweetie. I hope you love the recipe – it’s so tasty – the man of the house has been talking about it for the past week! I really hope you enjoy the blog, and I’m looking forward to exploring yours. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

