Pound Cake, One Year of Blogging, and Two Awesome Announcements

So, today marks one year of writing this blog.  It has certainly changed from what I initially set out to accomplish.  My personal little recipe collection actually has  handful of you out there reading it.   I am amazed that I have stuck with this through all the stresses of work and such this past year.  I hope you’re all enjoying it, because I certainly am.  In honor of  this momentous occasion, I have done something I don’t normally do: baked a cake.  More notes on the cake to follow after the AWESOME ANNOUNCEMENTS.  I figure, since this is a celebratory occasion, it’s probably time to publicly announce to the internet two very important things.   

3ne3m23p3zzzzzzzzz93i290fb314cd1d1015First announcement (this is the smaller one): I am moving from Georgia to West Point, Virginia.  It’s a small town at the intersection of three rivers in Virginia, pretty much right in between Richmond and Williamsburg.  I am super-excited about finding a place to live here; the house is on the water, and it’s a small town.  Fully renovated in the historic district!  I am stoked.  There’s less than 3,000 residents, so this is going to be very similar to the town where I grew up.  30 miles to the nearest Walmart!  67% Republican!   A Crab Carnival in October! Very different from Athens. Did I mention the Crab Carnival?  Who’s in?  Seriously.  Because we are gonna have some fun at that.  Everything happens within a five block radius of the house.

 

 

img_07171Second announcement (the big one): I am getting married! On April 3rd!  I didn’t post anything about it on my blog, but Jeremy and I got engaged last November.  We have been waiting fo figure out where we were going to relocate to before we got married.  We’re foregoing the elaborate ceremony and doing this courthouse-style.    And for those of you who have heard and have asked about the ring, I’m including a picture to satisfy your curiosity.  ( I do get to brag a little, right?)  People, it is less than two weeks away!  So. Excited.

 

 

Alright, and now back to the cake I’ve promised you.  Let me be clear from the beginning. There haven’t been any cakes posted on this website yet for a reason: I CANNOT frost them.  I complain about baking, but it’s all really just a front about cake frosting.  I am not even going to attempt to give you tips for that.  So, before I post any pictures, just keep that in mind.  

img_1170

 

Grandma's Recipes

Yes sir, folks, that right there is the family recipe for pound cake.  This cake is dense, sweet, and totally satisfying.  A conservative slice will fill you and make your thighs explode.  But it’s beyond great.  When I was younger, this was the cake I requested for my birthday every year.  Most people don’t ice pound cake because they serve it with fruit.  Not in my family.  Let’s just throw some more butter and sugar on top of the baked butter and sugar.  And then, let’s put some ice cream on the side.  I’m not going that far,  because even this icing is thinly spread.  I figure, though, it’s high time I share my favorite cake with you.  I am also submitting this cake to the blog event started by The Spiced Life called “Grandma’s Recipes.”  Perfect for Grandma’s Pound Cake!  You can read more about the event here.

 

Grandma’s Pound Cake

for the cake:

  • 3 sticks butter
  • 2 C sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 3 C all purpose flour
  • 2/3 C milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp lemon extract

for the icing:

  • 1 box confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 C milk

to make the cake:

Preheat oven to 300º.  Butter and flour a tube pan.  In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar together.  Whie slowly beating constantly, add one egg at a time.  Wait to add the next egg until each is completely incorporated.  When all the eggs have been added, mix in 1 cup of flour.  When the flour is incorporated, add 1/3 cup milk.  Repeat this step, then add the final cup of flour.  Add the vanilla and the lemon and mix well.  Pour the batter into the tube pan and bake for 80-90 minutes.  You can test for doneness by inserting a toothpick in the cake; if it comes out clean, the cake is done.  You can even press a finger into the top.  If the cake is firm, it’s done.  Remove the cake from the oven, and let it cool for 10 minutes.  Loosen the cake from the pan by running a knife around the edges.  Turn the cake out onto a wire rack to cool.  When the cake is completely cool, frost.

to make the icing:

Cream together the butter and the sugar, then add a quarter cup of milk and the vanilla. Beat until well incorporated, and there are no lumps in the icing.  You may want to add a bit more milk to achieve the consistency you want.

27 thoughts on “Pound Cake, One Year of Blogging, and Two Awesome Announcements

  1. Congratulations on all counts, Haley. Wishing you both all the luck in the world in your new home – sounds great. Looks like a fair wind is blowing your way. Long may it continue.

    Done with all my travels – sadly back in the UK for 8 weeks. Planning to quit this year – much needed change.

    Greg

    • Thanks, Greg! I certainly feel the karma swinging my way right now.

      Take care while you travel back to the UK! I am sure in a few months I will be able to vouch for the benefits of making a change. Looking forward to a refresh!

  2. Congratulations on everything! I’m excited that you’ve found:

    1. a great mate
    2. a great place to live

    These, along with finding your passion and a job you enjoy, might be the most important decisions we make in this life.

    I’m happy for you.

    take care,
    muddy

    • Thank you so much! Let’s cross our fingers about that job bit….I am really hoping this lets me make a positive change. The current one runs my life. Many thanks again for the warm wishes.

  3. Congratulations!!! That’s such great news! And congrats on a year of blogging. The cake looks so pretty- I love that you iced a poundcake!! That rocks!

  4. Congratulations on the house, the engagement, and the rapidly upcoming wedding! The ring is gorgeous!!! Tell Jeremy, job well done! On the cake…it looks delicious! I’m impressed that you frosted the inside of the tube!! I love it 🙂

    Happy Blogiversary!

    • @ Sara – thank you! I tell him everyday that he did well (he is very pleased). Frosting the inside of the tube was easy….the icing just dripped right down and did most of the work for me. 🙂

  5. Congrats! I love pound cake, btw–this looks fantastic. I can’t frost cakes, either, speaking of–I think you did a great job. Thanks for the submission.

  6. Thanks for the comment on my blog and the warm welcome 🙂
    Congrats on your engagement and your move- that’s a lot going on!
    I grew up in Gloucester, which neighbors West Point. I drove through WP a lot but didn’t stop too much other than to get an iced tea from Hardee’s on my way to Richmond. 😉 Good luck with your move and your wedding planning!
    Bella

    • Thanks, Belinda! I am really excited about moving to the area. You’re right – it’s a lot going on!

      We’ll see what West Point holds – at least there’s tea! Looking forward at getting to dig into your blog. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Round Up for Grandma’s Recipes Event

Leave a Reply

