Blood Orange and Fennel Salad

img_1175

If you’re following me on Twitter, you might have seen my ecstatic post about finding blood oranges.  Here in Athens, finding common delicacies like Meyer lemons and blood oranges are rare occasions indeed.  I’ve seen Meyer lemons once, a year ago, and I’ve stumbled upon blood oranges two or three times.  This, all in course of ten years of residency. I actually think the Meyer lemons were an accident.  But, oh, Kroger!  They had scads and scads of Moro blood oranges, blushing and beckoning to me from no less than three different displays.  I saw them almost immediately, and I filled a sack with them.  This was supposed to be a routine trip; I needed only some butter, eggs, and confectioner’s sugar to round out my cake-making supplies.  But, the blood oranges demanded to be bought, and I picked up some fennel to go along with them.  I figured that my pantry could work something out to leverage the deliciousness of these ingredients pretty easily.

I was right.

After gorging ourselves on cake all Sunday afternoon, we really didn’t want much of a dinner.  So, I went to the remaining blood oranges – a couple having been eaten out of hand – and put together this salad.  The fruit was delicious.  The simple dressing and the bit of salt draws the juice from them, maximizing every bit of flavor this fruit has to offer.  The oranges were delightful, aromatic, and gorgeously berry-ish.  This salad is a great way to feature the fruit and enjoy a tasty seasonal fruit.

img_1181

Blood Orange and Fennel Salad

  • 2 bulbs fennel
  • 6 blood oranges
  • 1 T basil
  • 2 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 T red wine vinegar
  • 1 T pine nuts, toasted
  • sea salt and freshly ground pepper

Trim the fennel of fronds.  Cut off the root end and core the bulbs.  Using a mandoline or a very sharp knife, shave the fennel into thin strips.  Place the fennel in a bed on a serving plate.  Next, slice all the peel and bitter pith away from the oranges.  Cut the peeled oranges into slices about 1/4″ thicks.  Layer the oranges in slightly overlapping rows over the fennel.  Tear the basil into small pieces and strew across the top.  Drizzle the olive oil and vinegar over the entire salad and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Let this rest while you toast the pine nuts.  Just before serving, scatter the pine nuts over the salad.

Serves 4-6.

18 thoughts on “Blood Orange and Fennel Salad

  1. Oh man, I LOVE blood oranges!! This looks super delicious, and I’ve been wanting something that I could make with fennel..looks like I found a winner!! Thanks Haley 🙂

  2. What a delicious, light meal.
    The colors are wonderful… and I love these flavors together.

    We did a similar fennel orange salad last weekend (sans blood oranges) — only we added a few habanero peppers and used lime juice as the base for the dressing. The heat was lovely with the fennel & citrus!

  3. wow!! this salad look delish and omg!! look at the colour combination. cant wait to prep this for tmrws lunch. my husband is a huge fan of salad. specially with fruits 🙂 thank you haley foir sharing this wonderful salad. cheers !! 🙂 also i have never tried a salad with blood orange. m sure thae taste gonna rock 😀

    • Glad you like it, Nora! I’m a huge fan of fruit in salad as well. I realized recently that all my favorite salads involve fruit in some way – Nigella has a recipe for a cold lemon salad that is out of this world. Hope you enjoy mine!

Leave a Reply

