Radish and Cucumber Salad with Orange Mustard Vinaigrette

Radish and Cucumber Salad

I made this salad a little while back, when radishes were first coming into season.  I can’t resist making a cucumber salad; the cucumbers provide a perfect palette for building delicate vegetable flavors in a salad.  In this salad, I really wanted to feature the crisp radishes.  They had deep magenta color and the promise of a springy bite.  To complement them, I whipped up an orange mustard vinaigrette.  The vinaigrette’s tang screamed late spring, and it was assertive– proudly yet calmly standing up to the peppered bite of the radishes and onion in the salad.  I made quite a bit vinaigrette with this salad, and I kept the rest refrigerated.  I drizzled it over simple salads of romaine and red onion for the next few days, and it made the flavors pop while keeping effort low.  It’s a little classier than the usual oil and vinegar treatment and better than anything you’ll buy in a bottle.

I held off on posting this salad, with it queued up to post at some point.  Today, as I began collecting cucumber salad recipes great for summer cookouts, I remembered that I had yet to post this.  I had lost the vinaigrette recipe, so I had to dig around to find it.  So, here’s one more cucumber salad recipe to celebrate spring, summer, and the freshest produce you can find.

Radish and Cucumber Salad with Orange Mustard Vinaigrette

  • 1 C sliced radishes
  • 1 C sliced cucumbers
  • 1/2 C diced sweet onion
  • 2 T basil, chiffonade
  • 2 T orange juice
  • 2 T whole grain mustard
  • 1/2 C extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • sea salt and freshly ground pepper

Slice the cucumbers and the radishes thinly – no more than 1/8″ thick.  Dice up 1/2 C of sweet onion in medium dice.  Toss the vegetables together along with the basil.  Next, whisk together the orange juice, mustard, olive oil, minced garlic, sea salt and pepper together in a small bowl.  Whisk until all ingredients are well-combined.  Taste the vinaigrette and adjust the flavors to taste, adding more salt, pepper, OJ, or mustard as appropriate.  Drizzle the vinaigrette over the salad and toss lightly.  You should have some vinaigrette leftover, which will keep for up to a week tightly covered in the refrigerator.  The vinaigrette recipe can easily be doubled so that it can be used on a different salad another day.

Serves 2-3.

Bookmark and Share
22 thoughts on “Radish and Cucumber Salad with Orange Mustard Vinaigrette

  1. Hey!
    We’re cohosting the PBE! I thought I’d stop by and introduce myself and say hi!
    I love your site and it’s Italian-musical name! I’m just Italian, unfortunately not very musical!
    Lovely summer salad here, fresh and simple!

    • Hi Marta! Nice to meet a fellow co-host – I’m glad you stopped by! So glad you like the name of the site, I agonized over it when it came to choosing a title. (I actually refused to start blogging until I could come up with a good name for one). Thanks again – I look forward to exploring your blog!

  2. well, aside from the vinaigrette being all kinds of awesome, the crunch provided by the cukes and radishes would be so satisfying. great summer salad!

  3. Hi Hayley
    I just happen to have all those ingredients in my fridge today!!
    Yay..guess what we’re having with our steak tonight..thanks for sharing. Looks so pretty in that dish too. :0)

    • Yay! I think this would be a wonderful side of steak. And isn’t it fun when you find a recipe you like and you have everything you need? I always feel like I’ve struck gold. Not that my recipe is gold or anything. 😀

Leave a Reply

