Iron CSA: Week 1

For our anniversary this year, Jeremy and I decided to purchase a small CSA share. We ordered from Bray Family Farms, a local farm near where we live. Last Saturday was the first pickup, and I’m excited to see what comes for the rest of season. I felt a bit like I was playing Iron Chef in trying to figure out what I was going to do with my box contents, and I thought it would be fun to track how we cook and eat everything. Unfortunately, I decided to do this after we had eaten most of the first box, so there’s no picture of that one.
 
Week One
Here’s what we got (and what we did with it):
  • 1 zucchini (sliced thin, seasoned with Penzey’s Northwoods seasoning, and grilled as a side)
  • 1 pattypan squash (sliced into rounds, seasoned with Penzey’s Northwoods seasoning, and grilled as a side)
  • 3 pickling cucumbers (sliced and eaten raw with a little salt and pepper)
  • 1 pound or so of new red potatoes (I made this Tempeh Curry Recipe)
  • 1 head of cabbage (half used to make this Spicy Cilantro-Peanut slaw, the other half is TBD for next week).
  • 2 crookneck squash (sliced thin and fried)
  • 2 peaches (eaten out of hand)
  • 3 fairly mature spring onions (kicking those to next week)

I can’t wait to tear into this week’s box. Have you purchased a CSA share this year or in the past? If so, what do you like about it?

Leave a Reply

