Iron CSA: Week 4

CSA Box Week 4

This week, the constant rain kept us from grilling. That coupled with the small amounts of a few key ingredients in our box prompted me to kick several ingredients to the next week so they could be better used. I know I could have just boiled the potatoes or green beans, but I didn’t really want a pot on the stove for very long since it gets so hot in the house during summer when I cook. I am hoping to get more green beans, another pattypan, and some more potatoes in next week’s box so I can make something more substantial with those things.
This week also marked the first harvest from my garden, outside of a few strawberries here and there. It was only a single jalapeño pepper, but it had to be worked into a meal. While it is far ahead of anything else growing, in another couple of weeks we’ll have our own vegetables to contend with along with our CSA box. I’m curious to see how my own harvests will mesh with our box; I’m growing several things that we already receive, so it should help flesh out some of the veggie quantities nicely, I hope!
Week Four
Here’s what we got (and what we did with it):
  • 1/2 pound of new red potatoes (kicked to next week, in hopes of getting more)
  • 2 ears of corn (corn on the cob)
  • 1 bell pepper (sliced and eaten)
  • 2 tomatoes (one was far too green in the center when it was sliced, the other was left to ripen for a week)
  • 2 onions (1 added to the ever growing onion stash, 1 used in pico de gallo)
  • 2 peaches (eaten out of hand)
  • 2 cucumbers (sliced, with salt and pepper)
  • 1 pattypan squash (kicked to next week – hoping for another)
  • 2 yellow crookneck squash (used along with the zucchini in Nigella’s Pappardelle with Zucchini, Sultanas, and Pine Nuts – one of my favorite recipes)
  • 2 zucchini (Pappardelle with Zucchini, Sultanas, and Pine Nuts)
  • a half pound of green beans (kicked to next week)

Leftovers From Last Week

From My Garden 

2 thoughts on “Iron CSA: Week 4

    • Yes, we definitely can use them all very quickly unless I hold out for a larger quantity so I can make specific recipes! We tried this size (the small or half size) to see how we like it; next year we will probably double what we get and order the large.

Leave a comment