Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Several months ago, I fell off the bandwagon for writing a monthly “Pie of the Month” feature for Appoggiatura.  The rigors of working, cooking, developing recipes, and applying all of this to baked goods started making it difficult.  Testing pie recipes (and cakes and cookies and all of that good stuff) is more difficult than my usual fare.  Other things I can toss in a saute pan, taste while cooking it, and adjust as I go.  Pie, however, needs to be practiced until it’s a finished product.   Last summer I started developing a good Strawberry Rhubarb Pie recipe.  Before I got it right, rhubarb was out of season.  Rhubarb was difficult to find in Athens, so I couldn’t really keep working on it afterwards.  I was disappointed, because the combination of sweet, tart, tangy goodness that comes from rhubarb pie is hard to beat.

So, a few weeks ago I was at the Blacksburg Farmers Market in Blacksburg, VA.  I had the great fortune to find not just gorgeous strawberries but also some delicate red rhubarb.  It was begging me to make pie with it.  I took it home, tweaked my recipe according to my notes, and now we have the pie recipe below.

Strawberries & Rhubarb

Strawberry and rhubarb are a classic fruit combination.  When both are in season, they are perfect flavor foils–the strawberries are succulent and sweet, the rhubarb firm and tangy.  Together, they produce a fruit flavor that outstrips any artificially flavored crud out there.  Rhubarb itself is a fascinating plant. It’s leaves and roots are toxic, containing high levels of oxalic acid.  The stalks are cooked in pies, sauces, compotes, and as most fruits.  It provides goodly amounts of vitamin C and potassium to the diet, and it also contains some Vitamin A and Folic Acid.  While rhubarb can be quite stringy, it is not a strong source of fiber.  When choosing rhubarb for cooking, select the brightest, reddest stalks.  These stalks have the most flavor.  As you chop rhubarb, you may want to cut away any excessively stringy areas and discard them.  If it’s stringy like celery, I usually strip those bits away.  To celebrate this gorgeous rhubarb, I’m submitting this pie recipe to Weekend Herb Blogging #188. This week’s WHB is hosted by Graziana, author of erbe in cucina.

This pie can easily be customized to cater to either extreme strawberry or rhubarb fans.  I generally use equal amounts of strawberries and rhubarb to fill the pie, but either proportion can be increased.  Just make sure you’ve got five cups of sliced fruit, and your filling will be fine.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

  • your favorite double crust pie crust recipe
  • 2 1/2 C sliced strawberries
  • 2 1/2 C sliced rhubarb
  • 1 1/2 C sugar
  • 2 T cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 T flour
  • 1/4 tsp lemon extract
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 T butter
  • 1 egg, beaten, for egg wash
  • sparkling sugar to decorate the pie

Prepare your pie crust, and use half of it to line a pie plate.  Shape the other half into a disc and refrigerate it.  Blind bake the bottom crust of the pie at 350º.  Meanwhile, prepare your pie filling.  Combine the fruit, sugar, salt, cornstarch, flour, and extracts in a mixing bowl.  Stir well to mix all ingredients and coat the fruit evenly.  When the bottom pie crust is lightly golden, remove it from the oven.  Pour the fruit into the crust.  Cut the butter into very small pieces and dot the pie with the butter.  Roll out the remaining pie crust about 1/8″ – 1/16″ thick.  Using a pizza cutter or pastry wheel,  cut the dough in inch-wide strips.  Lay the strips over the pie, weaving them in a lattice pattern.  When the pie is covered, brush the strips with the egg wash, then sprinkle the sugar over the lattice work.  Bake the pie for 45 minutes in a 350º oven.  If the edges of the pie start to overbrown, tent them with aluminum foil.  Remove pie to a rack when pie is golden and fruit is thick and bubbly.  Let cool at least 1 hour before cutting.

Makes 1 pie.

Bookmark and Share

49 thoughts on “Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

    • I love strawberries also – any kind of berries, really. Rhubarb is wonderful – it’s really tart, so it goes well with really sweet, perfectly ripened fruits. It’s wonderful in fruit pies, and definitely worth hunting down!

  1. It’s impossible to find fresh rhubarb where I live… but looking this pie I decided to grow it next summer! Thank you for sharing this with WHB!

  2. My parents had rhubarb growing on the edge of their property. I don’t find it that often in Texas but I may have to hunt some down after seeing your beautiful post.

  3. wow!! vat a great combo with strawberries and rhubarb.. this pie is rili gonna make me bizi in the kitchen with all its glamor.. thanx for the round up of yummies.. vat a lovely pictures..
    cheers!!

  4. Rhubarb pie is one of my favorites — and this pie looks positively gorgeous. I’m glad you kept on working on this one! Looks like all the effort paid off. Now, if only I were just a few states closer…

    • Indeed, if you were you’d be having some pie and coffee. I do love rhubarb. I’ve never made a straight-up rhubarb pie before, but I’d like to. I can’t get enough of the stuff.

  5. It’s gorgeous!!
    I love the combination of strawberries and rhubarb (I made a crisp with them tonight)! Beautiful job on the lattice top- I like how the coarse sugar sparkles!

    • Thank you – this turned out really well. The inside thickened beautifully, and the fruit was so fresh. It was fun to photograph, but I kept sneaking tastes of the pie.

  6. Holy cow, what absolutely gorgeous photos. One could almost do without the food and just look at the pics. Almost.

    We’re still a bit away from strawberry season and rhubard up here in the Great White North. I can’t wait.

    • The good news is that you have those seasons to look forward to. Strawberries are done here, and I feel like I barely got to enjoy them. I guess you can’t have it all, but I’d have liked one more pie. Or maybe a crisp. 🙂

  7. strawberries and rhubard are indeed a match made in heaven!! i made a dessert a year ago of this two and it was lovely! your photo is spectacular! yum

  8. Photos look divine.

    Unfortunately it’s been monsoon-like here in the New York metropolitan area for the past four weeks. Consequently, strawberries have been watery and/or mushy.

    Not a good year for local farmers.

    • So unfortunate for your strawberry season! But surely there will other delights. I am hoping New York dries up a bit; we are taking a trip there in a few weeks, and I’d like to be able to walk around. Maybe there will be an awesome autumn harvest…

  9. wow. this rhubarb pie looks so good! I love your photo montage, too. I am just waiting for an opportunity to make this.

    • Thanks! The next time you get some good strawberries, you should take advantage of them. Store-bought rhubarb isn’t too bad, so it’s worth it if you can get good berries.

  10. I made this pie for my birthday cookout yesterday–it was heavenly. I think it has beaten out sour cherry as my favorite kind of pie! One person ate four pieces (!).

    • YAY! I am so glad that a) you made this and that b) you guys loved it. I was really pleased with this pie after all the tweaking. I give a gold star to whoever ate the four pieces. 🙂

    • Blind baking refers to when you bake a pie or tart crust without any filling. It keeps the crust crisper and prevents it from getting soggy when the wet filling bakes in it.

    • Generally speaking, lemon juice isn’t a good substitute for extract, because the juice has much higher acidic content. However, in this pie filling it would be OK. The ideal substitute would be the zest of about half a lemon. Juice would then be the second option, and about 2 teaspoons should do the trick. Really, you could skip it altogether if you don’t have fresh lemons for zest or extract on hand. The pie doesn’t need a lot of lemon flavor; it’s just boosting the tang of the rhubarb.

Leave a comment